Slide background

Giving the increasing role of I.T in achieving corporate aims, the Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL®) was established to provide the foundation for quality I.T. service management (ITSM). It is a set of best-practices that describe procedures, tasks and checklists, which are not organization-specific, but can be used by any organizations to establish an internationally recognized level of competency.

ITIL® provides the foundation for quality ITSM through documented and proven processes that covers the entire Service Lifecycle which allows organizations to establish a baseline from which it can plan, implement, measure and improve in a well controlled and systematic way.

This instructor-led course is specially designed for participants to attempt the ITIL® Foundation Certificate level. It will introduce I.T. professionals to the ITIL® V3 terminology, structure and basic concepts and an understanding of the I.T. Good Practice. Participants will understand how the 5 Service Lifecycles work, namely Service Strategy, Service Delivery, Service Transition, Service Operation and Continual Service Improvement, and the relationship between those Lifecycles.


About the Certification

  • The APM Group became the Official Accreditor for ITIL® with effect from 1st January 2007
  • ITIL® Version 3, which is the latest version, was formally released on 5th June 2007
  • ITIL® is aligned with various international quality standards including international standard ISO/IEC 20000 (IT Service Management Code of Practice)
  • No. of registered candidates for ITIL® Foundation V3 in 2013 doubled that of 2012
  • From Jan 2011 to April 2012, total number of holders of ITIL® V3 Foundation Certificate reaches 330,000, among which 94,603 are located in Asia, the second largest region which is also the next best after Europe
  • Multinational corporations practicing ITIL® include Microsoft, IBM, Hewlett Packard, Disney, Telefonica, Barclays Bank, HSBC, Standard Chartered Bank, Citibank, British Airways, NASA, UK Ministry of Defense, UK National Health Service and many more…

Training Outlines

  • Introduction of ITIL® and IT Service Management
  • The 5 Core Principals of ITIL®
  • Understanding of the Service Lifecycle
  • Key terminology & concepts of Service Management
  • The Key Principals, Models and Processes of Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation and Continual Service Improvement
  • Understanding of the functions and roles of each item
  • Definition of the Technology and Architecture as tool
  • Understanding the ITIL® Certification Scheme
  • Examination Preparation

Training Highlights

  • 20 hours of instructor-led professional training
  • Course will be delieverd by top-notch instructor – one of the few top ITIL® v3 Expert Certificate holders in Hong Kong, who also have accredied with all modules at Lifecycle Stream and Capacity Stream
  • Emphasis will be placed on the understanding of applying the ITIL® principles for:
    • Enhancing customer’s satisfaction and meet customer’s needs
    • Minimizing risks of I.T. service requirements
    • Reducing cost for developing procedures and practices improvement
    • Improving communication and information flows between I.T., customers and users
    • Assuring staffs are equipped with basic standards and appropriate guidance for a quality approach of I.T. service management and provision
    • Achieving greater productivity and better utilization of skills and experience

Chartered Requirements

  • No credit or certification prerequisite is required to register for ITIL® Foundation Certificate examination while the ITIL® Foundation Certificate is a prerequisite for further qualifications in ITIL®, including ITIL® Expert Certificate and ITIL® Master Certificate
  • The ITIL® v3 certification scheme offers a modular approach. On successful completion of the module, candidate will be rewarded with both a certification and a certain number of credits. For example, completion of ITIL® Foundation Certificate will be awarded 2 credits
  • There are three levels of qualifications within the ITIL® Qualifications scheme. The required modules and credits needed for each level is provided as follows:
  • Eligibility Requirements
    ITIL® Expert Level
    • Candidates must hold the ITIL® Foundation certificate or a Bridge qualification eaquivalent
    • A total minimum of 22 credits must be achieved from ITIL® Intermediate Level
    • Get a pass in the Managing Across the Lifecycle module
    • Candidates should achieve a balanced knowledge base across the full ITIL® service lifecycle
    ITIL® Intermediate Level
    • Candidates must hold the ITIL® Foundation Certificate
    • Candidates need to gain 15 more credits from modules holding different focuses:
      • Modules from “Service Lifecycle Stream” (3 credits each) or
      • Modules from “Service Capability Stream” (4 credits each) or
      • A combination of modules in “Lifecycle Stream” and “Capability Stream”
    ITIL® Foundation Get a pass in the “ITIL® V3 Foundation for Service Management” Examination

Examination Highlights

  • Closed book with 40 multiple choice questions to be answered in 60 minutes
  • Examination will be held on the last day of the training program, which is set by EXIN, one of the licensed Examination Institutes (EI) of the Official Accreditor, APM Group
  • The passing mark of the examination is 65% (26/40)


Mr. William SL Cheng

  • ITIL® V3 Expert
  • ISO20000 Certified Consultant
  • ISEB Accredit trainer
  • Over 25 years of I.T. experience with MNCs in the Asia Pacific including:
    • IT Service and Support
    • IT BPO
    • IT Service Desk Operation
    • Data Storage Management
    • TIL Consulting and Implementation Experience

Download Leaflet / Lesson Plan